Needless to say, Incognito mode is a very important feature that we all want to use regularly.
However, being aware of the Incognito mode. We use every day can greatly affect the security of your work. And can be important to your safety at times.
Have you ever tried to read the first screen that appears after opening this Incognito window?
As mentioned here, you can use the Internet very privately through this mode. And other people who use this device will not see anything you do through it.
It also states that browser history, cookies and other data saved from websites. As well as information enters into forms will not be saved.
But the next section states that everything you do through this will be visible to the relevant websites. The technicians at your place of work or school, as well as your service providers, such as Dialog / Mobitel / Hutch.
What does this Incognito mode do?
The basic idea here is that when you use this Incognito mode. The data entered into the browser history, cookies, browser cache, and form will be saved without deleting it until the window or session is closed.
What are the advantages of this Incognito mode?
If you are a person who started using the internet before introducing this mode to web browsers. You will have to go to great lengths to manually delete the things I mentioned earlier after doing the relevant work that you remember.
So this process is automatic. So that what you do in an internet cafe or other public computer will not be visible to the next user of this device.
In addition, if you use websites such as Medium. You may have seen instances where paywall exerts pressure to pay for reading articles after reading a certain number of articles.
Most of the time you use cookie storage in your browser to do things like this. So if these cookies are cleared after we close the browser session, we will not be able to see the number of articles we visited on these websites next time.
Also, if you do a Google search for something and go to Facebook. You will see advertisements showing what you searched for on Google through Facebook ads.
You can also use this Incognito mode to get rid of things like this.
Already you know that you can use this Incognito mode if you want to login to another website. In addition to the account, You are already logged into.
Things to know when using Incognito mode
However, whether you use this Incognito mode or not, the websites you use or transfer data through your ISP. So they can see what websites you are visiting.
Also, if you use it in an office, school, university, or public Wi-Fi hotspot, the network officials at these locations will also be able to monitor what you are using.
So if you want to hide what you are doing from these people, you must use a VPN or a network like Tor.
Even if you use something like a VPN or Tor Network. You may be wondering why they can’t see this because we used to use the internet through the ISP.
This does not happen because when we use a VPN. We encrypt the data we transfer. Although they can see this encrypted data, they are encrypted so they do not have a chance to see what is contained in it.
Also, if you use a network like Tor, it will be very difficult for anyone who connects to the internet from anywhere else to find your location.
If you’ve been using Incognito mode and using a VPN to watch something extremely secretive. Now you know that no one can get this data back … but …
Although the browser promises to delete this data. Data about the websites you visited still remain in your device’s DNS cache. In addition, there is still the possibility/risk of recovering data that is automatically deleted when the browser is closed, with the help of recovery software.
If you want to clear this DNS cache. You can use the “ipconfig / flushdns” command via Command Prompt in Windows.
Additionally, if you are using browser extensions and have been given access to Incognito mode, the relevant extensions will be able to see what you are doing in Incognito mode.
And most importantly, if the device you are using has software like a keylogger, it can secretly record everything you type, including your passwords and credit card details, whether or not you use Incognito mode.
While I hope you have been able to learn about and use Incognito mode, a feature we use frequently through this article, you probably know more about this as well. So if you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our Community.